Business Anywhere Blog

Mobilizing the Business and Business of Mobile

Blackberry Bold hands-on review

with 23 comments

Now that the Blackberry Bold has been released, we are starting to see some hands-on reviews coming on-line. Here is one from Down Under, courtesy of David Flynn at APC Magazine. David has done a fantastic job of reviewing this device. He has some great photos and in-depth review of its features. Speaking of features, here is a quick highlight of what he liked:

– Sleek design with rounded edges which is derived from Curve and 8800.

– Screen is bigger than the Curve at 2.6 inches diagonally. It is also wider than the Curve’s, 2.25 inches to 1.5 inches. Also, the display on Bold has higher resolution at 480X320. While the resolution is comparable to that of iPhone, but because of the size, the pixel density is higher on the Bold and therefore makes for a superior screen than the iPhone.

– The user interface has been redesigned to take advantage of the additional real estate and resolution. Also, RIM has added new softer fonts that make reading emails and web pages easy on the eyes. With the new 4.6 version of the operating system, RIM has updated the home screen with new, larger icons.

– The phone comes pre-loaded with Documents-to-Go software to read and edit Microsoft Office documents. Though there is no stand-alone viewers for PDF and RTF documents. You can only view them if they are attached to emails.

– Speaking of emails, RIM has finally enabled HTML support (though not native HTML yet) on its email reader so you get to see the email as it was meant to be seen, not like the current version where you get a mix of text and code.

 – The web browser is decent but no Flash support.

– Bold’s multimedia support is excellent and surprising. It takes advantage of its big screen to display AVI, MPEG-4 formats, the DivX and XviD codecs, along with WMV and 3GP video clips. You can also record video-clips and create playlists.

– The speakers are decent or you can use the included “Premium” headset with hands-free microphone or your favorite earphones.

– While the camera on Bold and Curve are both 2Mpxl, the results are way different. Bold has much better image-processing capabilities, producing “shots that were noticeably sharper, clearer and more colour-true over the Curve’s more muted captures.”

– RIM decided to go with a faster XScale processor for Bold which handles all the tasks very efficiently.

– Like with all other RIM products, battery life on Bold is good. It can lasts for days between recharge, except when you have to use Wi-Fi.

All in all, this is a great phone. David was pretty impressed with the phone and reading his in-depth review, I am sure you will too.

Written by dvdand

August 12, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Posted in Blackberry, Handsets, RIM

Tagged with ,

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] US launch is delayed.  If you need to a reminder of the features on the Bold, you can read them here and read the comparison to Nokia E71 here. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  2. Is there video call from blackberryBold, How about the internet connection is possible to use in deff. places like i will apply internet connection in bahrain can i still use it in philippines,

    Hope to get your response ASAP.

    Best regards,

    Luciano

    May 27, 2009 at 12:30 am

  3. Luciano,
    The internet connection is available in different places. However, it would depend on your contract with the carrier whether it allows you to use your phone in different countries. I don’t believe that there is video call capabilities in the Bold. However, there are 3rd party apps that might enable such capabilities.

    Hope this answers your question.

    dvdand

    May 27, 2009 at 6:19 am

  4. Good article, please allow me to input… A great way to have healthy, glowing skin is to exfoliate.
    When you exfoliate, you are removing the top layer of
    dead skin from your face so that new skin can come to the surface.

    Exfoliation also helps in unclogging your pores, which is one way to prevent oil build-up
    that leads to acne.

    goliterature.info

    December 22, 2012 at 11:57 am

  5. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your web site accidentally, and I’m surprised why this coincidence did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  6. Great blog you have here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  7. Check your bank account if you can cope up with the cost you
    need to shell out in doing your dream project. Distribution of the drug should only be given to patients with legal documents supporting that they’re indeed undergoing a treatment utilizing the medical marijuana dispensary
    merchant account. One book that encourages reassessing the way you think about these two drugs is medicinal marijuana dispensary merchant account is Safer:
    So why are we driving people to drink.

  8. I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work
    and coverage! Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  9. Doh! I was domain name searching at namecheap.com and went to type in the domain name: http://bizanywhere.
    wordpress.com/2008/08/12/blackberry-bold-hands-on-review/ and guess who
    already had it? You did! lol j/k. I was
    about to purchase this domain name but noticed it was taken so I thought
    I’d come check it out. Great blog!

  10. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

    Danielle

    July 6, 2013 at 8:30 am

  11. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

  12. Exceptional post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Appreciate it!

    indoor heaters

    July 12, 2013 at 12:06 pm

  13. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide something again and aid others such as you aided me.

  14. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a
    captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  15. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you
    can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

    fridge repair

    July 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

  16. I’m curious to find out what blog system you are working with? I’m having some small security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any solutions?

    best seo company

    July 31, 2013 at 2:18 am

  17. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest gossip.

    womens health magazine

    August 1, 2013 at 12:37 pm

  18. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I
    just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same subjects? Many thanks!

    Private School Loans

    August 2, 2013 at 11:47 am

  19. Seriously prized your new blogging site page and also techniques.
    You might be fabulous.
    Thankyou relating to putting this process and i also anticipate to figure
    out other from you at one point.
    Perfect position hanging your web site eradicate coupled with excellent
    devoid of the any sort of direct mail.

    Does one have much various options with regard to my own diamond
    ring homepage to take care of the situation free of unsolicited
    advertising?
    As well as guidelines regarding how to submit by means of unsettled remarkable similar
    to that of the ones you have?
    Hi for my british 🙂 it is definitely certainly not great naturelle text, belief it
    is possible to identify

    Trista

    August 3, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  20. I have fun with, result in I found exactly what I used to be taking a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  21. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before end I am reading this enormous paragraph to increase my experience.

  22. My brother suggested I mmight like this blog. He was totally right.

    Thiis publish truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how a lot time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

    Arianne

    September 25, 2013 at 11:32 pm

  23. gillette sensodyne professional samples


Leave a Reply

